With the limited information we could gather about the institute we curated a list of the handful of events that existed before 2017.

Seminar on Cognitive Computing

Date: 27 November 2015

Cognitive Computing Leader from the IBM Institute for Business Value, Dr. Sandeepan Sarkar delivered an extremely informative and thought-provoking talk on the Cognitive Future during the Cognitive Computing seminar organized at the institute. Prof. (Dr.) Ajoy Kumar Ray, director of IIEST Shibpur also graced us with his presence.

Intra College Cricket Tournament

Date: 16 December 2015

A tri-series cricket tournament was organized between IT branch of the 2014 batch, CS branch of the 2015 batch and the IT branch of the 2015 batch. In the first match IT 2015 batch defeated CS 2015 batch. However, IT 2015 batch lost to the IT 2014 batch in the second match. After facing defeat in their first match, CS 2015 batch made a comeback in the third match of the tournament and registered a victory against IT 2014 batch.

With all teams winning one match each, contestants of finals had to be decided by ratings. The finals of the tri-series saw a clash between the and CS 2015 batch and IT 2014 batch in which the former came out victorious.

Karshan Smart City Hackathon

Date: 22 February 2016

A team comprising of 4 students of the Indian Institute of Information Technology Kalyani – Shivendra Pratap Singh, TVR Suryavamsi, Nishant Kumar & Vikas Upadhyay clinched the runner up spot at the Karshan Smart City Hackathon organized by Kalyani Government Engineering College.

IIIT Kalyani Algoholics

Date: 16 March 2016

Intra College competitive coding competion – Algoholics 1.0 was organized for the 2015 batch by the 2014 batch on the Codechef platform. Aditya Agarwal and Abhishek Shukla won the competition.

Winners of the Algoholics contest conducted on codechef

Posted by Indian Institute of Information Technology – IIIT Kalyani on Wednesday, 16 March 2016

IIIT Kalyani Algoholics 2.0

Date: 8 November 2016

Intra College competitive coding competition – Algoholics 2.0 was organized for the 2016 batch on the CodeChef platform. Dhruva Mishra, Abhishek Shukla, Vikrant Karn and Shubham Kumar Singh Rajput were the problem setters and Ankit Tiwari and Akarsh Somani won the competition.

All India Robotics Challenge (AIRC) Workshop

Date: 17 and 18 January 2017

All India Robotics Challenge (AIRC) Workshop was organized at IIIT Kalyani where students gained hand-on experience of building grid following and smartphone-controlled robots. The event was coordinated by Shivendra Pratap Singh, Abhishek Shukla and Amit Anand.

IIIT Kalyani CodeRyte

Date: 9 April 2017

Intra College competitive coding competition – CodeRyte was organized on the Hackerrank platform. It took place in two separate divisions. First Division was open for the batch of 2014 and 2015 and Dhruva Mishra, Abhishek Shukla, and Shubham Kumar Singh Rajput were the problem setters. The Second Division was exclusively for the batch of 2016 with Ayush Agarwal, Gurpreet Singh Behal and Amit Anand as the problem setters. Abhijeet Singh won the former whereas Aman Singh won the latter. Winners were awarded

Udaan – randomize()

Date: 4 May 2017

With the theme being “Random is Fun”, students of the institute took part in an evening full of random discussion over a cup of innovation and a bite of entertainment hosted by Shruti Sharma.
Everyone’s creativity was put to test as discussions on life experiences, science, tech, politics, and literature ensued.

Leave a Reply

You may also like